For NatCat and Braedyn

When I’m at work, I have about an hour or so, by myself in an enclosed room while I’m synthesizing our product.  Since the chemical reactions take a while, I have some time to myself to just pray and meditate with God.  This is one that I’ve been doing and one that I want to share with you guys.

I want to lead you guys to a prayer time with song to pray over your relationship – yes, even a friendship is a relationship.

Our focus is Ephesians 4:22-24: We are called to 22 put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

Since this is my first time with you both, I want you guys to focus our prayer towards your relationship.  Though you’re welcome to lay anything down, I encourage you guys to reflect on your past, present, and future, together and individually.

Close your eyes. Do you know the feeling of taking your backpack off after a long day at school?  Imagine the relieving moment of getting that weight off your back and onto your home floor or even in your car.  Sigh.  During this first song, I want you guys to imagine taking off your burden heavy backpacks, essentially putting off your old self.  Verse 22, put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires. During this song, lay before God and surrender any of the worries or stresses you have about the relationship – anything from, your doubts, the judgment of others, your pride, anything you struggle with.  Put off your old self:

Help me to trust you, Lord, help me to trust.

I lay it all before you now.

Surrendering it all, I know I must.

Help me to trust you, Lord, help me to trust. X2

One more time, just surrender it all.

Help me to trust you, Lord, help me to trust. …

Keep your eyes closed. Now that you’ve released your control and given it to God, you are now allowing Him to do His work over those burdens, over your life.  You’ve put off your old self, and now in verse 23, you are also called to be renewed in the spirit of your mind. During this next song, listen to the words and be renewed in the spirit of your mind.

Slow us down, Oh Lord, slow us down.

Help our hearts to hear your sound.

Speak into our lives, Lord, speak now.

Slow us down, Oh Lord, slow us down.

Clear our Minds, Oh Lord, clear our minds.

Give us peace that we cannot find.

Take these worried thoughts, break our pride,

Clear our minds, Oh Lord, clear our minds.

Wake our souls, Oh Lord, Wake our souls.

With this mess we’ve made make us whole.

In this life called ours, take control.

Wake our souls, Oh Lord, wake our souls.

Exodus 14:14 The Lord will fight for you, you need only to be still.

Psalm 46:10 He says, “Be still and know that I am God.”

For God is within us and we will not fail,

Listen and hear the Lord say,

“Be still, and know that I am God.”

“Be still and know that He is God.”

We have a God who wants to fight for us, who wants to take control over the situations we think we have control over-but really don’t.  Celebrate with me as I sing this last song and recognize that God is everything we need for any situation.  He is our true satisfaction.  During this song, verse 24, put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.  Put on the new self:

Cuz all of you, is more than enough for,

All of me, for every thirst and

Every need, you satisfy me

With your love, and all I have in you.

Is more than enough.  X3

Leave a comment